Inside Out Review

Inside Out Review

**********Warning the following article may contain spoilers. You have been Warned!*******************

Summary:

After young Riley is uprooted from her Midwest life and moved to San Francisco, her emotions – Joy, Fear, Anger, Disgust and Sadness – conflict on how best to navigate a new city, house and school.

My Thoughts:

When I first saw the trailer for Inside Out I had high hopes and who wouldn’t Pixar is a studio that really hasn’t let me down. I don’t mean that all there movies are great but at least they were entertaining. But I am sad to say that era has ended for me. Inside Out just doesn’t live up to its former predecessors.

I told one of my fellow screeners last night this was a mediocre rehash of Toy Story just with the toys now being inside the child’s head. Riley’s family move from Minnesota to San Fransisco and of course nothing is going as it should be the house doesn’t live up to the hype Riley dreamed up, the movers are lost and keep pushing back the delivery date, and of course the dreaded new school.

Then we have the emotions inside Riley’s head who instead of coming together and getting Riley through this they are in conflict with each other which leads to Riley losing focus on who she is and what made her her whcih leads Riley down a dark path.

Now why do I say that this movie does not live up to the Pixar movies that came before? Pixar is usally good at balancing adult and kid humor making it fun for the whole family to sit down and watch the movie and sadly I feel that Inside Out did not do this. There were certain scenes that I was sitting there bored with. Some scenes just didn’t make any sense whatsoever, making it feel like they threw stuff in there so they could pad the run time. Don’t get me wrong there was some humorous scenes that I enjoyed in this movie, especially some of the end credit outtakes but overall I just feel this movie lacked anything really new to the scene. Like I stated before I feel we have seen this storyline in some form or another just this time they are using emotions as the point of view vice toys, etc.

Now the kids that were in the audience seemed to enjoy this movie overall. As I said before it does go a little dark, kind of like Toy Story 3 but I think they went a little further. So at least if you are taking your kids out to see this they should be entertained I can’t say the same for all the adults out there.  Also there is really no point in the 3D glasses nothing really jumped out at me making me glad to see this movie in 3D. Heck 3/4ths of the way through the movie I remembered that I was actually wearing the glasses.

I know that this is the first really kid movie of the summer and families are probably going to flock to it. And most likely those that love Disney and Pixar are going to see it as well. I hope that they find more enjoyment in it than I did.

My Recommendation:

Rent It.

Movie Info:

Release Date:

19 June 2015

Rating:

PG

Run Time:

94 min

Director:

Pete Docter, Ronaldo Del Carmen

Writers:

Pete Docter, Ronaldo Del Carmen (story), Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley, Pete Docter (screenplay)

Starring:

Amy Poehler, Phyllis Smith, Richard Kind, Bill Hader, Lewis Black, Mindy Kaling, Kaitlyn Dias, Diane Lane, Kyle MacLachlan

Leave a Reply

